

Call for Nominations - SCJA Awards

All nominations and supporting materials should be submitted via email to the respective committee chair by 11:59 pm Eastern on the deadline date. Please also copy the 2nd Vice President at shaun@uark.edu.

Note: Current SCJA officers are not eligible for awards.

Outstanding Student Awards: Submission Deadline July 8, 2024

SCJA recognizes exemplary student achievement through four awards. Eligibility for each award is limited to students currently enrolled (or graduates who were enrolled through May 2024) in schools within the Southern region. Each nomination must contain a description of the nominee's accomplishments in areas such as scholarship, leadership, and public service. The nomination should include the nominee's grade point average and additional information sufficient to answer the following question: "In what ways has this student contributed to his/her academic program, college and/or community?"

-- Tom Barker Outstanding Undergraduate Student Award¹

Committee Chair: Dr. Abby Novak (anovak@olemiss.edu)

-- Outstanding Masters Student^{1,2}

Committee Chair: Dr. William Moreto (william.moreto@ucf.edu)

-- Outstanding Doctoral Student^{1,2}

Committee Chair: Dr. Kyle Burgason (burgason@iastate.edu)

-- Outstanding Student Poster Award^{1,3}

Committee Chair: Dr. Sarah Harper (sarah.harper@tamusa.edu)

Outstanding Educator Award: Submission Deadline July 8, 2024

This award recognizes one criminal justice educator for outstanding academic achievement in teaching, research, and service. The recipient of the award is selected on the basis of overall contributions to higher education in criminal justice. Nominees must be members in good standing of SCJA. Nominations should include the nominee's Curriculum Vita and supportive letters. The winner will receive a lifetime membership to the association.

Committee Chair: Dr. John Stogner (JohnStogner@charlotte.edu)

Outstanding Professional Award: Submission Deadline July 8, 2024

This award recognizes a practitioner in the field of criminal justice for outstanding contributions. Nominees must currently serve in a criminal justice-related position within the Southern region. Nominations should include a nominating letter detailing the nominee's record of achievement and the nominee's resume. The winner will receive an honorarium to attend the conference.

Committee Chair: Dr. John Sloan (prof@uab.edu)

- 1: Student winners receive a financial stipend to defray cost of travel. They must attend the conference to receive these funds.
- 2: Masters and Doctoral student awards include a free 3-year membership in addition to the stipend. Winners may pay the difference between the 3-year and lifetime membership rate if they wish to upgrade to a lifetime membership.

3: Nominations are not necessary for the poster competition. Students must register as the lead author (faculty co-authors are acceptable) and then present the poster at the conference. Posters are judged at the conference and the committee will select 2 winners. Each will be awarded \$500.